Too long coming…

It’s been a while. Clearly I haven’t gotten this whole blog thing down yet. But I have been working on it. You’ll notice that it is no longer called ellenjensenabbott’s blog! An improvement, yes? I went instead with the snappy Ellen Jensen Abbott. That was a stretch! I have also been in touch with the unparalleled Bridget Finnegan who is going to prettify this blog in the near future. I picked a new template–haven’t we had enough of the blue? Unfortunately, because I am cursed, the template I liked best was called, cough, ChaoticSoul. It seems I just can’t escape the truth: I do have a chaotic soul…Now all of blogland will know it! Anyway, watch for more changes to come….

I do have to say one thing about the election, now slipping into the distance. OH YEAH, BABY! (ahem) This was supposed to be non-partisan. But the other thing I have to say is that I am SO glad turn out was decent. Every election I think of the people in the US and overseas who have given their LIVES to get the vote. And then something like 40% of Americans drag themselves out to exercise this right. Well, it was better this time. Better. Not amazing. What would happen if we ever got to 80% or 90%? Boggles the mind…

Okay, more writing posts coming, since that is, ostensibly, what this blog is about. Surviving the writing life. Or maybe having a writing life and living to tell about it….

~ by ellenjensenabbott on November 24, 2008.

One Response to “Too long coming…”

  1. OH YEAH BABY is right! I’m with you, Ellen. On both accounts (the result and the turnout). I’m like that about elections; I’m like that about serving on juries, also. Whenever someone comes to me and says, “I got a notice to serve on a jury. Can you tell me how I can get out of it?”, I scream. Do they have any idea how lucky they are to have that opportunity?? How lucky we all are that we have the system we do? It’s not perfect, but it sure beats the way so many other countries do it (or, rather, DON’T do it at all . . .).
    Okay, I’ll get off my soapbox! 🙂

    I’m so excited for you about your book! Can’t wait to read it.

Leave a Reply

 
