Muskogee, Oklahoma!

I had a blast yesterday skyping with a group of students at the Hilldale Middle School in Muskogee, Oklahoma! There were some technical glitches, but it was really neat to connect with this group of avid readers and writers. They asked great questions–and even laughed at some of my jokes! Watersmeet has been nominated for the Sequoyah Book Award in Oklahoma, which first brought these students’ attention to  my book.

There are some parts of skype that are difficult. What with trying to look at the camera and not the screen and the delay in what each party says, it’s really hard to read your audience. But all this is made up for by the fact that you get to connect with readers from far away. I would never have been able to make the trip to Muskogee, but there I was–or at least cyber-me was there!

Thanks for the invitation, Ms. Harrison, and thanks to the group of students who welcomed me so warmly and asked such  great questions!

~ by ellenjensenabbott on April 26, 2012.

3 Responses to “Muskogee, Oklahoma!”

  1. That is so cool! I wish that would happen with Jackson High School in MO…

Leave a Reply

 
