Remembering why I write YA….

Yesterday I attended Rick Riordan’s webcast with kids from Westtown, where I teach. Most of the audience was in sixth grade, although there were some tenth graders there, too. Honestly, I didn’t really want to go. I have a ton going on these days and I could have used that hour to “get something done.” I loved Percy Jackson, though, for some reason, I didn’t read the whole series. I read part of The Red Pyramid with my daughter, but then she finished it on her own. But, I thought, I really should go. I should see how a web-cast is done, see how Riordan interacts with his audience, learn something about his process, etc. etc. I also want to support YA, and fantasy, wherever I can, so I left my desk over-flowing with to-do lists and lessons plans and trotted over to the science lecture hall where the webcast was happening.

It was decent. Riordan was in an Egyptian museum and he was engaging as a host, knew a lot about Egyptian gods and magic, and was thoughtful in his presentation to his young readers. Fine. Nothing to write home about, but I was glad I came.

The last question he took was a student asking if he planned to take on a new mythology in his next series. He handled the question with just the right build up to his announcement. Yes, he had been thinking about this for a long time. There was one mythology that always fascinated him–that had really been his first mythological love, in fact, so he was very excited to tell us that he would next tackle…

Norse Mythology.

Throughout the lecture hall sixth graders started cheering, high-fiving each other, fist bumping, grinning from ear to ear. They were pumped. About Norse Mythology. The totally unaffected joy in that room about the promise of a good story–that’s why I write YA.

~ by ellenjensenabbott on May 2, 2012.

One Response to “Remembering why I write YA….”

  1. Interesting. I actually got to, not exactly “meet” Riordan, but rather, listen to him. He did come to my school and I got a shirt from that encounter. I was one of I think 5 others that got a shirt.

Leave a Reply

 
