Fantasy Decor

Below is a photo of a lamp that sits in my office:

 It was made by my wonderful friend, Cara Graver, who is a fabulous potter/ceramicist. I saw it and knew I had to have one! If you look closely, you can see that it is a gnome house, complete with gnomes, sheep, mice (and a beeswax dachshund my daughter made). The shade is cool, because when you turn it on, butterflies and dragon flies appear! You can see them here:

I have other whimsical items in my office–to keep me in the right mood for writing fantasy. (One of them is the statue of the Green Man, featured on my Facebook fan page: Ellen Jensen Abbott, author).

I’ll put some other photos up in the future!

Oh! And check out Cara’s website at http://www.thecobstudio.com/ She built this house out of cob–a material I  have had in and then edited out of both of my books! My kids and I even helped a tiny, tiny bit with building it. You make the cob by putting straw, sand, clay and water together (I may be forgetting an ingredient…) and mixing it with your bare feet! Cool!

~ by ellenjensenabbott on August 10, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
