It’s in!

Here it is! (My daughter made the shrine!)

Here it is! (My daughter made the shrine!)

On December 17, I submitted my 300 page manuscript for the third book in the Watersmeet series! Phew! It was a tough book to write, I think because it was the third and final in Abisina’s story. I had to conclude this part of the history of Seldara which meant tying up lose ends from the two previous books. In addition, I had made all kinds of choices in Watersmeet and The Centaur’s Daughter that I had to live with. Mountain ranges were in place, villains were alive and had their own specific agenda, and characters were setting out on tasks that had to be completed–whether it fit well with where things went in book three or not!

It is a huge relief — in one way — to think about that stack of papers sitting on my editor’s desk. It’s not on my desk! Of course, there’s a lot of angst, too. What if she hates it? What if she comes back to me and says, “yeah, not so much. Start over.” (I think this is unlikely, but I suspect this is a standard fear among writers–we’re generally a wildly confident and wildly insecure group, all at the same time. Well, maybe not that confident!) It’s slated for a fall 2013 release so she should be getting it back to me very soon! If I disappear from my blog again, you’ll know why!!

(By the way, it’s currently called The Keeper. I have no idea if that title will stick….)

~ by ellenjensenabbott on January 17, 2013.

8 Responses to “It’s in!”

  1. YAY, Ellen! Nice shrine. 🙂

    And I like the title, but titles do seem to change from ms to final book.

  2. Congratulations!

  3. That’s awesome! Now relax a bit, you deserve it. Hope to see you soon.

  4. Looking forward to it, really enjoyed your take on the genre.

Leave a Reply

 
